Annual Meeting and Election

The Annual Meeting was held on Monday, August 29, 2016 at 5:00 PM at the Orleans Yacht Club. The meeting provided updates from the President, Director, and various board members, including recent land acquisitions and our new strategic plan; a guest speaker from the New England Wildlife Coalition; and voting for the slate of new Trustees as well as the next Nominating Committee.   A full agenda is available here.

Our slate of Trustees and Nominating Committee members up for election is chosen by the Nominating Committee, and brought to vote by the membership.  This year, we had two Trustees, Robert Prescott and Karl Goldkamp, whose term is up and decided not to re-run.  Two candidates were selected to replace them, Steve Gass and Clyde Hanyen.  In addition, three Trustees were up for re-election. Biographies for the slate of Trustees and Nominating Committee members can be viewed here: 2016 Nominees Biographies.

Following the policies of the updated Declaration of Trust, a quorum of 61 members was reached for the meeting.  The official vote for the slate of Trustees was 170 -Yes, 1 -No.  The official vote for the slate of Nominating Committee members was 170 -Yes, 1 -No.

Any individual who made a donation equal to the minimum dues level of $25 between July 1, 2015 and June 30, 2016, or placed a conservation restriction on their land, or donated or sold land to the Trust during this period, or is a Life Member, was entitled to vote in this election.  Any family trust or other organization whose donation meets the level for organizational membership was entitled to one vote.